HOME GROUPS

Kenny 1 Ms Rimma Campos campos.rimma.r@edumail.vic.gov.au
Kenny 2 Ms Brydie Murphy Murphy.Brydie.T@edumail.vic.gov.au
Kenny 3 Mr Michael Couche couche.michael.v@edumail.vic.gov.au
Kenny 4 Mr Ashley Arnott arnott.ashley.a@edumail.vic.gov.au
Kenny 5 Ms Eve Harding Harding.Eve.E@edumail.vic.gov.au
Kenny 6 Ms Michelle Berwick Berwick.Michelle.M@edumail.vic.gov.au
Kenny 7 Ms Amanda Tait tait.amanda.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Kenny 8 Ms Filomena Henderson henderson.filomena.f@edumail.vic.gov.au

Ms Jenny Hart
Ms Jenny Hart Kenny Student Learning Leader
Ms Rimma Campos Kenny Assist. Student Learning Leader

KENNY STUDENT LEARNING TEAM CAPTAINS

 
Ruby Coupar Hannah Brooks

KENNY STUDENT LEARNING TEAM STATEMENT

We are passionate about providing a positive, caring and supportive school environment whereby students can reach their full potential as individuals.

We build strong relationships with students, teachers and parents reflecting our school values.

We are proactive in our desire to work as a team to help others, be creative, have fun and contribute to the many opportunities Berwick College has to offer.

ELIZABETH KENNY – OUR NAMESAKE

Elizabeth KennyElizabeth Kenny (20 September 1880 – 30 November 1952) was an unaccredited Australian nurse who promoted a controversial new approach to the treatment of poliomyelitis. Her findings ran counter to conventional medical wisdom; they demonstrated the need to exercise muscles affected by polio instead of immobilizing them. Kenny’s principles of muscle rehabilitation became the foundation of physical therapy, or physiotherapy.

“And they shall walk” The statement made from a relentless solider in the battle against Polio. Elizabeth Kenny, with no formal training as a nurse, became one of Australia’s most famous therapists and helped thousands of people around the world. She discovered a revolutionary treatment for infantile paralysis and devoted her life to the dissemination of the treatment throughout the U.S. and abroad.

Poliomyelitis, also called polio or infantile paralysis, is a highly contagious infectious disease caused by a virus that, in its acute form, affects the central nervous system causing paralysis (the inability to move a body part). It can strike at any age, but usually effects young children. Elizabeth Kenny, one of eight children used her simple knowledge of medicine taught to her by the town doctor, to improvise a treatment for the fast spreading disease.

Wikipedia