We would like to send a warm welcome back to 2017 to all our O’Donoghue families. First term is well and truly under way with the first few weeks flying by. We have welcomed our new Year 7 students and they have all made a fantastic start to the College. In just a few weeks we will be venturing down to Phillip Island with them for their first Secondary School camp which we know they are all looking forward to. There are many activities for O’Donoghue students to get involved in Term 1 this year including the whole school Swimming Carnival on the 21st February, Home Group competitions, lunchtime games in the Leisure Centre and student voice activities.  Please feel free to contact us at any stage throughout the year, we are looking forward to a big year for the O’Donoghue Dragons!!!

Student Learning Team Captains for 2017

We have a group of different student leaders for our Learning Team this year. It is very exciting to have students new to the leadership group and we look forward to working with them this year. They will have an important role in the O’Donoghue team, meeting regularly with other student leaders and working towards having a greater say in our school community.

Mitchell Ross Caitlin Egan
Mitchell Ross Caitlin Egan

Home Groups:

O’Donoghue 1 Ms Amy Broekmann broekmann.amy.k@edumail.vic.gov.au
O’Donoghue 2 Ms Simone King king.simone.a@edumail.vic.gov.au
O’Donoghue 3 Mr Shannan Davey davey.shannan.s@edumail.vic.gov.au
O’Donoghue 4 Ms Rebecca Abernethy abernethy.rebecca.j@edumail.vic.gov.au
O’Donoghue 5 Ms Rebecca Hann hann.rebecca.l@edumail.vic.gov.au
O’Donoghue 6 Ms Joanne Keating Keating.Jo.M@edumail.vic.gov.au
O’Donoghue 7 Ms Rachel Edwards edwards.rachel.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Jesse Nugent Rebecca Abernethy
Mr Jesse Nugent – O’Donoghue Student Learning Leader

(03) 8768 1089

nugent.jesse.d@edumail.vic.gov.au

Ms Rebecca Abernethy – O’Donoghue Assistant Student Learning Leader

(03) 8768 1089

abernethy.rebecca.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

 

Lois O’Donoghue

Senior Public Servant, Born 1932, Granite Downs SALowitja 'Lois' O'Donoghue
Lois O’Donoghue was born in 1932 in a remote Aboriginal community. She never knew her white father and, at the age of two, was taken away from her mother, who she was not to see for 33 years. After a long struggle to win admission to a training hospital, Lois became the first black nurse in South Australia. In 1976, she was the first Aboriginal woman to be awarded an Order of Australia. In 1983 she was honoured with a CBE and in 1984 she was made Australian of the Year. In 1990 she became the founding chairperson of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission. She has changed her name to Lowitja O’Donoghue.

http://www.australianbiography.gov.au/subjects/odonoghue/

 

O’Donoghue – Learning Team Champions 2009